Kobato. Opening Theme – Magic Number

Magic Number
Vocals: Sakamoto Maaya
Lyrics: Sakamoto Maaya
Composition: Kitagawa Katsutoshi
Arrangement: Kitagawa Katsutoshi

What should I do, hm?
The ‘normal things’ are always difficult
I just laugh when I’m happy
And I want to sing whenever I like, but-

“Someday your wish will be fulfilled”
But how far away is ‘someday’?
I can’t wait too long

On the count of 1 2 3! I spread out my hands and collect light over my entire body
Where is it? Tell me, what I can do
I get hurt in full force, I run with all my might
I trip more than ten times and cry; nevertheless, I still
Believe in tomorrow, amazingly

I wanted to be alone
So I just took a slight detour on my way home
The face of the one who I want to see
Appeared in my mind for a few times, then vanished in the clouds

The words we exchanged on that day
Sink straight in now
And they hurt a little

1 2 3! I knock on the doors one by one and ask my heart once more
I’m searching for what I really want to do
I overreached at full force, so I stagger in recoil
And I go back to the start more than ten times, even if I get worn out
I want to love that sort of me, too

Even when it’s suffocating, suffocating
And I can’t breathe
I can’t stop, I don’t want to stop, until I see everything to its end

On the count of 1 2 3! I look up at the sky and you’re looking at the same star, too
I feel it, that ‘I’m alone, yet I’m not alone’
I get hurt in full force, I run with all my might
I trip more than ten times and cry; nevertheless, I still
Believe in tomorrow, amazingly


Majikku Nanbaa
Vocals: Sakamoto Maaya

Dou sureba iin da kke
Atarimae no koto tte itsumo muzukashii na
Ureshii toki waratte
Suki na toki ni utaitai dake na no ni

Itsuka negai wa kanau to
Demo itsuka tte dore kurai?
Machikirenai yo

One two three! no aizu de ryoute hirogete   zenshin ni hikari o atsumete
Doko ni aru no?   Oshiete watashi ni dekiru koto
Meippai kizutsuite   seiippai hashitte
Nanjuukai koronde   naite   sore de mo mada
Akireru kurai   ashita o shinjiteru

Hitori ni naritakute
Sukoshi dake toomawarishita   kaeri no michi
Aitai hito no kao
Ikutsuka ukande   kumo no naka ni kieta

Ano hi kawashita kotoba ga
Imagoro sutto shimikonde
Sukoshi itai yo

One two three!   Hitotsu-zutsu tobira tataite   mou ikkai mune ni toikakete
Sagashiteru no   hontou ni watashi ga shitai koto
Meippai senobishita handou de yorokete
Nanjuukai furidashi ni modotte   kutakuta de mo
Sonna jibun mo   suki de ite agetai

Kurushikute   kurushikute
Iki ga dekinaku naru toki mo
Tomarenai   tomaritakunai   zenbu mitodokeru made

One two three! no aizu de sora o miagete   onaji hoshi kimi mo mitete
Kanjiteru yo   hitori da kedo hitori ja nai tte
Meiippai kizutsuite   seiippai hashitte
Nanjuukai koronde   naite   sore de mo mada
Akireru kurai   ashita o shinjiteru


マジックナンバー
歌:坂本真綾
作詞:坂本真綾
作曲:北川勝利
編曲:北川勝利

どうすればいいんだっけ
あたりまえのことっていつも難しいな
嬉しいとき笑って
好きなときに歌いたいだけなのに

いつか願いは叶うと
でもいつかってどれくらい?
待ちきれないよ

1 2 3!の合図で両手広げて 全身にひかりを集めて
どこにあるの 教えて私にできること
めいっぱい傷ついて せいいっぱい走って
何十回転んで 泣いて それでもまだ
あきれるくらい 明日を信じてる

ひとりになりたくて
少しだけ遠回りした 帰りの道
会いたい人の顔
いくつか浮かんで 雲の中に消えた

あの日交わしたことばが
今ごろスッとしみ込んで
少し痛いよ

1 2 3! ひとつずつ扉たたいて もう一回胸に問いかけて
探してるの 本当に私がしたいこと
めいっぱい背伸びした反動でよろけて
何十回振り出しに戻って クタクタでも
そんな自分も 好きでいてあげたい

苦しくて 苦しくて
息ができなくなるときも
止まれない 止まりたくない ぜんぶ見届けるまで

1 2 3!の合図で空を見上げて 同じ星きみも見てて
感じてるよ ひとりだけどひとりじゃないって
めいいっぱい傷ついて せいいっぱい走って
何十回転んで 泣いて それでもまだ
あきれるくらい 明日を信じてる

5 responses to “Kobato. Opening Theme – Magic Number

  1. thanks for posting this up! i love this song ^^!

  2. Thank you for posting!! Love Sakamoto Maaya >.<

  3. Thought this would be interesting for people learning Japanese. It is a breakdown of the translation for the first verse.

    どう = how, what
    すれば = “if” form of suru (do)
    いい = good
    ん = gives tone of being kind of whiny
    だっけ = gives tone of trying to think of something
    Literal translation: What if it’s good, I wonder?
    Translation: I wonder what would be good to do?

    あたりまえ = natural; normal
    の = makes atarimae into an adjective
    こと = thing
    って = audible quotation marks
    いつも = always
    むずかしい = hard
    な = tone of speaking to yourself
    Literal translation: The “natural thing” always hard…
    Translation: It’s always hard to do what’s “normal”

    うれしい = happy
    とき = time; when
    わらっ て = laugh; smile (in te form, which is used to connect more than one clause)
    Literal translation: Happy time laugh/smile
    Translation: To laugh/smile when I’m happy

    すき = like
    な = makes suki into an adjective
    とき = time; when
    に = shows time
    うたいたい = want to sing
    だけ = only
    なのに = and yet
    Literal translation: In likable times I want to sing only and yet
    Translation: Yet I just want to sing whenever I like

  4. I love this song the moment I heard this song for the first time, it’s a very nice song, good rythm and thank you for posting this song’s lyrics & translation. (Never get bored of singing along)

  5. This: Majikaru Nanbaa is a very nice 2 me.

Leave a comment