CODE GEASS Lelouch of the Rebellion Insert Song – Picaresque

…Lelouch’s counterpart song from the OST?

Picaresque
Vocals: Sakai Mikio
Lyrics: Sakai Mikio
Composition: Sakai Mikio

Yes, I’ll tell you about the world that I envision
In order for light to illuminate your heart

Things that reflect in your eyes aren’t everything
When it comes to you, you should know that very well

I’ll embrace pain, I’ll face sorrow
The future, look, shines in my palms

I’ll hide my sharp gaze and slash apart the era
So that the future visible to you will change from black to white, Wow Wow

The rows of barbed wires; the beehive-like city
The languidly tamed people

I can’t hide that I’m irritated, I can’t laugh frivolously
The moment to release my passion and rush out is now…

The daybreak of hope is close; can you feel it?
Your tears become the seeds that bring forth my impulse, Wow Wow

Because it’s transient, life itself shines in an instant
I can’t choose to lie to myself or such; there’s no point in choosing

I’ll hide my sharp gaze and slash apart the era
So that the future visible to you will change from black to white, Wow Wow


Pikaresuku
Vocals: Sakai Mikio

Sou kimi ni kikaseyou   boku ga egaku sekai
Sono kokoro ni hikari terasu tame

Me ni utsuru mono ga   subete ja nai koto o
Kimi naraba yoku wakaru hazu sa

Itami o dakishimeyou   kanashimi to mukiaou
Mirai wa hora   te no hira de kagayaku

Togatta shisen o himete   jidai o kirisakou
Kimi ni mieru mirai ga   kuro kara shiro e kawaru you ni   Wow Wow

Tetsujoumou no retsu   hachi no su no you na machi
Mukiryoku ni kainarasareta hito-tachi

Iratsuki wa kakusenai   herahera to waraenai
Netsu o hanachi   tobidasu toki wa ima…

Kibou no yoake wa chikai   kanjite iru kai?
Kimi no namida ga boku no shoudou o umidasu tane ni naru   Wow Wow

Hakanai kara koso no inochi   setsuna ni kagayake
Jibun ni usotsuku koto nado erabenai   erabu wake nai

Togatta shisen o himete   jidai o kirisakou
Kimi ni mieru mirai ga   kuro kara shiro e kawaru you ni   Wow Wow

8 responses to “CODE GEASS Lelouch of the Rebellion Insert Song – Picaresque

  1. What’s the meaning of Pikaresuku/Picaresque ?

  2. I’m not sure.
    Dictionaries are your friends.

  3. Picaresque means comic =D
    Or… an antique spanish style XD

  4. Well, I googled it and got this…

    “Picaresque” labels a sort of literature involving a picaro (Spanish), a lovable rogue who roams the land having colorful adventures.

  5. Was this composed for the show, or just picked out as ‘Lelouch’s Song?’

  6. probably supposed to represent him somehow. It’s not his character song, since Fukuyama Jun is is seiyuu.

  7. Picaresque

    adj. of or pertaining to scoundrels or rascals; describing adventurers and scoundrels, of the lives of rogues and villains

  8. adj.

    1. Of or involving clever rogues or adventurers.
    2. Of or relating to a genre of usually satiric prose fiction originating in Spain and depicting in realistic, often humorous detail the adventures of a roguish hero of low social degree living by his or her wits in a corrupt society.

    it makes sense that it pertains to Lelouch, seeing how he lives the life of a common student in a ‘corrupted’ Britannian society and uses his smarts to masquerade as Zero, hero of the numbers(with some humorous scenes indeed)

Leave a comment