Attack on Titan 2nd Opening Theme – Jiyuu no Tsubasa

🐦 of Freedom
Wings of Freedom
Flügel der Freiheit

Vocals: Linked Horizon
Lyrics: Revo
Composition: Revo
Arrangement: Revo

Wohlan Freund!
Jetzt hier ist ein Sieg.
Dies ist der erste Gloria.
O, mein Freund!
Feiern wir diesen Sieg, für den nächsten Kampf!

“They died in vain”
…I won’t have any of that
Until I become the last ⟪arrow⟫ (man) standing…

Der Feind ist grausam… Wir bringen…
Der Feind ist riesig… Wir springen…

My hands hold ⟪steel blades⟫ (gloria), I sing a ⟪song of triumph⟫ (sieg), and my back has ⟪the 🐦 of freedom⟫
With my determination clenched over my heart, I cut through the ⟪spiral of folly⟫, and soaring through the azure sky are the―

🐦Wings of Freedom🐦

Birds broke through their shells to fly, not to crawl so unsightly on the ground, right?
So what do you have 🐦 for? The sky in your cage is far too cramped, right?

Die Freiheit und der Tod. Die beiden sind Zwillinge.
Die Freiheit oder der Tod?
Unser Freund ist ein!

I don’t understand the troublesome things…like what I was born for…
But even if I was a mistake… I know what I live for…
It’s…not a reason…but that I exist…to be “free”!

The hidden truth signals our impact
⟪Titans⟫ lurk in the locked ⟪depths⟫ (darkness) and ⟪surface⟫ (light)
Stereotypes are crumbling, and while I harbor hesitation, I still advance toward “freedom”!!!

Linker Weg?
…Rechter Weg?
Na, ein Weg welcher ist?
Der Freund?
Der Feind?
Mensch, Sie welche sind?

My hands hold my ⟪will to fight⟫ (instrument), I sing of ⟪hope⟫ (lied), and my back has the ⟪horizon of freedom⟫
The chains that connect the world are in each of our hearts, and we make the ⟪reverse side of possibility⟫ resound, so soar through the azure skies―

🐦Wings of Freedom🐦


Jiyuu no Tsubasa
Vocals: Linked Horizon

Wohlan Freund!
Jetzt hier ist ein Sieg.
Dies ist der erste Gloria.
O, mein Freund!
Feiern wir diesen Sieg, für den nächsten Kampf!

“Muimi na shi de atta”
To…iwasenai
Saigo no ⟪hitori⟫ ni naru made…

Der Feind ist grausam… Wir bringen…
Der Feind ist riesig… Wir springen…

Ryoute ni wa ⟪gloria⟫   utau no wa ⟪sieg⟫   senaka ni wa ⟪die Flügel der Freiheit⟫
Nigirishimeta ketsui o hidarimune ni   kirisaku no wa ⟪linie der torheit⟫   soukyuu o mau――

🐦Flügel der Freiheit🐦

Tori wa tobu tame ni sono kara o yabutte kita   buzama ni chi o hau tame ja nai daro?
Omae no tsubasa wa nan no tame ni aru   kago no naka no sora wa semasugiru daro?

Die Freiheit und der Tod. Die beiden sind Zwillinge.
Die Freiheit oder der Tod?
Unser Freund ist ein!

Nan no tame ni umarete kita no ka nante…   komuzukashii koto wa wakaranai kedo…
Tatoe sore ga ayamachi datta to shite mo…   nan no tame ni ikite iru ka wa wakaru…
Sore wa…   rikutsu ja nai… sonzai… yue no “jiyuu”!

Kakusareta shinjitsu wa   shougeki no koushi da
Tozasareta sono ⟪yami⟫ to ⟪hikari⟫ ni hisomu ⟪titanen⟫
Kuzuresaru kotei kannen   mayoi o dakinagara   sore de mo nao   “jiyuu” e susume!!!

Linker Weg?
…Rechter Weg?
Na, ein Weg welcher ist?
Der Freund?
Der Feind?
Mensch, Sie welche sind?

Ryoute ni wa ⟪instrument⟫   utau no wa ⟪lied⟫   senaka ni wa ⟪horizont der freiheit⟫
Sekai o tsunagu kusari o onoono mune ni   kanaderu no wa ⟪hintere von der möglichkeit⟫   soukyuu o mae――

🐦Flügel der Freiheit🐦

20 responses to “Attack on Titan 2nd Opening Theme – Jiyuu no Tsubasa

  1. Thank you. Will you translate Guren no Yumiya’s full version too?

  2. dang. I looked at the scan of the booklet, I was barely able to make out any of the German words. And here you are, pinning them all down, one by one… kudos!

    Still, how in the world does “Gloria” translate to “blades of steel” (I read the booklet, I know it says 鋼刃, still curious tho…lol, I might’ve traslated as “blades of glory” to take both meanings) (Isn’t Gloria latin? like, Gloria in excelsis Deo), and “Sieg” (victory) definitely does not translate to 凱歌 (I would translate to anthem, even though it technically means “victory song”) Oh well, Japanese love to take Western languages and make “gratuitous” use of them, there’s no way the Japanese will ever be able to use German correctly… (see TVTropes for more on that…”there’s no such thing as metaphrase in translating from Japanese to English.” -K.A., or the Man of Straw.)

    • Listened to the song a few more times, and managed to decipher one new German word. Go me. (Never bothered to check if anyone else realized this one, so I might not be the first, lol)
      ->Tozasareta sono yami to hikari ni hisomu PUTENHERDE
      (Yeah, I’m sure he called the Eoten-things a flock of turkeys.)
      Still, kudos to you for the rest of the lyrics. Really. Inspired me to come up with my own translation for Guren no Yumiya and this song.

  3. hmm… I sure I heard three syllables in that word… プ(pu)、テ(te)、デ(de). I can’t make any final confirmations, seeing as it’s not in the booklet, but it might be worth checking out to see how many syllables you can catch in that word. Of course, it can be three syllables, but not the word that I used too… lots of possibilities.

    • note: i’m sure the “pu” syllable I heard wasn’t an instrument or random noise. played just that 3 second portion on repeat 10 times, it was definitely the vocalist. Didn’t sound like he was breathing in or out into the mic either.

  4. Lols, you’re right. Makes much more sense, seeing as that’s what it says on the booklet (巨人達). Nice catch. (I wonder why I thought the vocalist said “pu” for the first syllable…)

  5. WickedHipsterPink

    I’m curious, how did you get “hope” from “lied”? I mean, I don’t speak German fluently (assuming it’s German, I don’t know, I’m stupid sometimes.) but “Lied” means “Song”.

    • I did not. The translation is based on the Japanese text, not the German pronunciations. A lot of the words are not sung as written and where they differ are included in parentheses for the sake of completion. Think of them as dual meanings.

      • WickedHipsterPink

        Ok, that confused me, and since I don’t speak Japanese, it makes it a bit difficult. I’m a student of German currently, and I’ve had even my own mother tell me that it means “song” so I got confused, thank you for clearing that up for me

  6. It’s a little funny to see people getting confused over the German words, but I guess it’s because not many are used to Revo’s random ‘lyrical genius’. xD He has done it in many if his previous works before, and it basically works the same way as Furigana. You know how sometimes the Kanji means one thing but the Furigana means another? Revo does the same thing here, except it’s German. xD

  7. Oh Wohlan Freulich! >Freulich is the old word for “fröhlich” and this is something like an old way of saying “from now on happily”Victory is coming>This is hard because it is stuck in deep old german, even grammatically. If you know latin, german has like latin different cases and it is nearly impossible to learn them.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_case#German

    Gloria is the german/latin name for Fama, goddess of victory but can also simply mean victory. This means the sentence has a double meaning. (german poetry loves things like this)

    “This is a present for Gloria / In the name of Gloria” or “This is the first victory for our Gloria (Gloria also means glorreich “gloriously”)

    In second case the word “des” stands for the previous sentences “Sieg/victory ”
    <This part is hardcore tricky, the japanese lyrics can`t help in this case because old english… If you know the history of angel-saxon languages, in the middle age… no rules so it can be anything, but since the whole text uses eastern german styled sentences I`d say it roughly says this:

    O, mein Freund, >Oh my friendLet us celebrate this victory with the next battle!>Törichtkeit /Törichtheit = foolishness (btw, the word is also old english)<>Unser Freund ist eins (the difference is that ein means “a” while eins means “one”. Our Friend (Freedom and death) are one)<`s =es<
    Der Freund?
    Der Feind?
    Mensch, Sie welche sind? <>Hinter der Front der Möglichkeiten<< behind the front of the possibilities or roughly translated farther than the possibilities show us.

    Just to say, I love this page and so far it has always top notched quality. And this should be. Hope I could help to stick to this quality of translations and lyrics! And don`t blame japanese people for the pronounciation… Languages are hard to learn (especially german). I am german and it took me 12 years to learn a nearly good german… I still struggle with Kasus and grammatical issues. Nobody speaks perfect german, not even someone with a PhD in Germanistik. (The thing you study if you want to study german language)

    Keep the good work up!

    • Something went misisng in the first part!

      Oh Wohlan Freulich! >Freulich is the old word for “fröhlich” and this is something like an old way of saying “from now on happily”Victory is coming>This is hard because it is stuck in deep old german, even grammatically. If you know latin, german has like latin different cases and it is nearly impossible to learn them.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_case#German

      Gloria is the german/latin name for Fama, goddess of victory but can also simply mean victory. This means the sentence has a double meaning. (german poetry loves things like this)

      “This is a present for Gloria / In the name of Gloria” or “This is the first victory for our Gloria (Gloria also means glorreich “gloriously”)

      In second case the word “des” stands for the previous sentences “Sieg/victory ”
      <This part is hardcore tricky, the japanese lyrics can`t help in this case because old english… If you know the history of angel-saxon languages, in the middle age… no rules so it can be anything, but since the whole text uses eastern german styled sentences I`d say it roughly says this:

      O, mein Freund, >Oh my friendLet us celebrate this victory with the next battle!>Törichtkeit /Törichtheit = foolishness (btw, the word is also old english)<>Unser Freund ist eins (the difference is that ein means “a” while eins means “one”. Our Friend (Freedom and death) are one)<`s =es<
      Der Freund?
      Der Feind?
      Mensch, Sie welche sind? <>Hinter der Front der Möglichkeiten<< behind the front of the possibilities or roughly translated farther than the possibilities show us.

      Just to say, I love this page and so far it has always top notched quality. And this should be. Hope I could help to stick to this quality of translations and lyrics! And don`t blame japanese people for the pronounciation… Languages are hard to learn (especially german). I am german and it took me 12 years to learn a nearly good german… I still struggle with Kasus and grammatical issues. Nobody speaks perfect german, not even someone with a PhD in Germanistik. (The thing you study if you want to study german language)

      Keep the good work up!

  8. Well f* Dies ist des ersten Gloria(s) went missing

    Oh Wohlan Freulich! >Freulich is the old word for “fröhlich” and this is something like an old way of saying “from now on happily”Victory is coming>This is hard because it is stuck in deep old german, even grammatically. If you know latin, german has like latin different cases and it is nearly impossible to learn them.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_case#German

    Gloria is the german/latin name for Fama, goddess of victory but can also simply mean victory. This means the sentence has a double meaning. (german poetry loves things like this)

    “This is a present for Gloria / In the name of Gloria” or “This is the first victory for our Gloria (Gloria also means glorreich “gloriously”)

    In second case the word “des” stands for the previous sentences “Sieg/victory ”
    <This part is hardcore tricky, the japanese lyrics can`t help in this case because old english… If you know the history of angel-saxon languages, in the middle age… no rules so it can be anything, but since the whole text uses eastern german styled sentences I`d say it roughly says this:

    O, mein Freund, >Oh my friendLet us celebrate this victory with the next battle!>Törichtkeit /Törichtheit = foolishness (btw, the word is also old english)<>Unser Freund ist eins (the difference is that ein means “a” while eins means “one”. Our Friend (Freedom and death) are one)<`s =es<
    Der Freund?
    Der Feind?
    Mensch, Sie welche sind? <>Hinter der Front der Möglichkeiten<< behind the front of the possibilities or roughly translated farther than the possibilities show us.

    Just to say, I love this page and so far it has always top notched quality. And this should be. Hope I could help to stick to this quality of translations and lyrics! And don`t blame japanese people for the pronounciation… Languages are hard to learn (especially german). I am german and it took me 12 years to learn a nearly good german… I still struggle with Kasus and grammatical issues. Nobody speaks perfect german, not even someone with a PhD in Germanistik. (The thing you study if you want to study german language)

    Keep the good work up!

  9. I love this song.its attack on tittan(by Gurin o yama.that song made me smile like this 🙂 😂;-) 😛 😀 ☺😊😀😁😃😄😅😆😇😉B-) O:-) O:-) .

Leave a Reply

