Going to Sakura-Con 2012

Image credit goes to ACParadise for photo #1 and #3
The only anon outside of ACP who took my photo for #2

Edit: Back again. It was a great time at the con! I only wish that I spent more time at the con itself instead of trying to fix everyone’s costumes through most of Friday and Saturday.

Urobuchi/Ota/Iwakami signed my Waver tie and Madoka guidebook. I will cherish them forever, even if they generate despair in the corner of my room.

And some highlights from the weekend:

I passed the finished hoodie along to the gachimuchi-est Yayoi ever. His wig was amazing.

I think we managed to get him onto the Nico stream after a few drinks

Nadeko Twister to kick off Friday on Nico Nico

Lending the King of Kings a lowly mat

The construction of my Homura costume turned out subpar, so I didn’t try to get on Nico until far later in the day and completely forgot to say “I’LL SAVE YOU MEGUCA” on the stream. To clear up a misunderstanding (?), I said ‘mai hasbando,’ not ‘my husband.’

Attempting to grab a Servant since Rider wasn’t around

Please buy the $400 box set

That Rider

Photo credits go to Makoto
Final gathering/meal at the con

All in all, I enjoyed my time at Sakura-Con 2012 and I will return for 2013, resources permitting. The next convention that I plan to attend this year is PAX Prime 2012 at the end of August/beginning of September.

It’s that time of the year again, when I spend every waking hour outside of school and work toiling away on last-minute costumes for myself and my friends.

I’ll be attending Sakura-Con 2012 in Seattle, Washington, from April 6th through 8th.

I’ll also be volunteering at the Aniplex booth on Friday and Saturday (located in the Exhibitors’ Hall) as Homura to promote Puella Magi Madoka Magica, then dropping by as Waver on Sunday to support Fate/Zero find myself a servant and get slapped silly. Aniplex is also promoting Bakemonogatari and Nisemonogatari and I will be volunteering as Nadeko to play Twister with the audience on Friday evening. King’s Game may or may not be included.

Cosplay schedule:
– Sengoku Nadeko (Nisemonogatari)
– Akemi Homura (Puella Magi Madoka Magica)
– Waver Velvet (Fate/Zero)

Nico Nico Douga will have a live stream booth at the con this year, too, adjacent to the Aniplex and Funimation booths. I’ll try to get my friends’ Fate/Zero group cosplay together for the camera, time permitting. Between the all of us, we have a Gilgamesh/Archer, Alexander the Great/Rider, Tohsaka Tokiomi, Kotomine Kirei, and Waver Velvet at least.

Urobuchi Gen, the man responsible for bringing despair to children writing Fate/Zero and Puella Magi Madoka Magica, is scheduled to appear at the con. I am very excited about the opportunity to meet him and have Madoka memorabilia autographed by him.

12 responses to “Going to Sakura-Con 2012

  1. Homura? I thought you would be doing Madoka…

  2. Awww wish could see you cosplaying Sengoku! Look forward to hopefully seeing photos🙂

  3. What cosplay have you made for your friends?

    Also: are you participating in this ANIBLOG TOURNEY that is totally, like, happening right now? I think it is a cool thing that is totally ~happening~

  4. Are you going to pass by the niconico stand like last year ?

  5. You always have the best cosplays. I wish everybody put as much effort into it.

  6. Just as a nit picky note I’m fairly certain that Gilgamesh only ever refers to as the king of heroes or the golden king. The king of kings is generally acknowledged to be Jesus

    It is possible I’m wrong though . It’s been awhile since I’ve read through FSN

    • I called the Gilgamesh ‘King of Kings,’ ‘King of Heroes,’ ‘Golden Boy,’ ‘Goldsparkles/金ピカ,’ ‘Pikachu,’ and etc. all weekend long. As far as I am concerned, Gilgamesh is one of the greatest mythological kings of all time, better than Jesus.

  7. Pingback: Back From Sakura-Con 2013 | {Words of Songs}

Leave a Reply

