Angel Beats! Opening Theme – My Soul, Your Beats!

My Soul, Your Beats!
Vocals: Lia
Lyrics: Maeda Jun
Composition: Maeda Jun
Arrangement: ANANT-GARDE EYES

On sleepy mornings that I keep waking up to
I pull my necktie tight
And when I pass through my classroom door, I can start walking with my chest puffed out just a little
The wind blows through such ordinary days
I realized I heard it
I realized I felt it
now in my chest that started to tremble
I realized it was coming already
I saw off
the millions of stars that were disappearing
I waved my hand
Saying, “Thank goodness”

I look down at the corner of the hallway in middle of cleaning
I think it’s a strange thing
Even though the time inside of me has stopped
It feels like I’m living through different days
Dust falls and accumulates like snow
I realized you’re waiting
I realized you’re calling
now in this time that started to tremble
I realized I found it
My lost memories recalled
My story
of eternity—
Its ending

I started running before I knew it
My hand was being pulled along by you
Yesterday was far away, tomorrow was right ahead
My heart naturally leapt so much with joy

I realized I heard it
I realized I felt it
now in my chest that started to tremble
I realized it was coming already
A new sun rose over thousands of mornings
I realized you’re waiting
I realized you’re calling
My soul is trembling
I realized I found it
I saw off
the day that’s able to disappear like millions of dreams
I waved my hand
Saying, “Thank you”


My Soul, Your Beats!
Vocals: Lia

Mezamete wa kurikaesu   nemui asa wa
Eri no tai o kitsuku shime
Kyoushitsu no doa kuguru to hon no sukoshi mune o hatte arukidaseru
Sonna nichijou ni fukinukeru kaze
Kikoeta ki ga shita
Kanjita ki ga shitan da
Furuedasu ima kono mune de
Mou kuru ki ga shita
Ikuoku no hoshi ga kiesatteku no o
Miokutta
Te o futta
Yokatta ne, to

Rouka no sumi miorosu   souji no tochuu
Okashi na mono da to omou
Atashi no naka no toki wa tomatteru no ni
Chigau hibi o ikiteru you ni
Hokori wa yuki no you ni furitsumu
Matteru ki ga shita
Yonderu ki ga shitan da
Furuedasu ima kono toki ga
Mitsuketa ki ga shita
Ushinawareta kioku ga yobisamashita
Monogatari
Eien no
Sono owari

Itsu no ma ni ka kakedashiteta
Anata ni te o hikareteta
Kinou wa tooku   ashita wa sugu
Sonna atarimae ni kokoro ga odotta

Kikoeta ki ga shita
Kanjita ki ga shitan da
Furuedasu ima kono mune de
Mou kuru ki ga shita
Ikusen no asa o koe   atarashii hi ga
Matteru ki ga shita
Yonderu ki ga shitan da
Furueteru kono tamashii ga
Mitsuketa ki ga shita
Ikuoku no yume no you ni kiesareru hi o
Miokutta
Te o futta
Arigatou, to

24 responses to “Angel Beats! Opening Theme – My Soul, Your Beats!

  1. Stunning opening, wasn’t it? “Yokatta ne.”

    There is something strange (and exciting) about watching an anime with Maeda’s music and the whole Key involvement without having a visual novel predating it.

  2. Thx so much, I would be grateful if you could also post the kanjis of this lyrics. Thx again!

  3. @ akari_house
    My thoughts exactly. It really is a magical experience. Hopefully that feeling will still stay the same throughout the series.

    For some reason the lyrics made me think of a teacher waving off his students on their graduation day… Although that probably wasn’t the image the song was going for… I can’t wait to hear the full version of this beautiful song and find out the full story!

    Thanks for posting this!

  4. IMHO, the lyric is a perfect match with Angel Beats opening. Tachibana Kanade , “the angel”, who plays the piano describe the meaning of the song. Because she has a duty to make sure all soul (“stars”) in the afterlife (“the classroom”) will go to heaven or reincarnate (“disappear”).

  5. Considering the singer (who I also assume to be Tenshi) also gets to disappear at the end of the song, are these Spoiler Lyrics… ?! (This has happened before!)

  6. Based on the recent episode, I’m thinking this could also be Otonashi…

    • The song is written from the viewpoint of a girl, so it can’t be Otonashi.

      • Just because the singer’s a girl does not necessarily mean the viewpoint is from a girl as well. Case in point, a certain feminine sounding robot in a certain post-key anime that turns out to be a guy ;D. Though that wasn’t in a song but you see what i meant x3.

      • The singer refers to herself as ‘atashi’ in the lyrics, so the viewpoint is definitely female.

  7. Wow Great! Thanks for the full lyric and download links. Yes I agree, this lyric has spoiler.

  8. i looooove the piano in the begining. the remix is olso great, by Gearls Dead Monster, whith guitar instead of piano!!!!!!!!

  9. Should the line “Its ending” be “It’s ending”? That seems like it would make more sense to me.

  10. after watching the 13th episode of AB, this lyric is totally match with the whole story. Awesome, Maeda Jun is genius!

  11. Angel Beats was 100% awesome, thanks alot for the link.

  12. the piano is very nice ! honestly, i really like ALL song from angel beats (not including the crap kanade made at 13th eps). it’s rare to find anime with so many great song, but her it is!

  13. This opening song of Angel Beats is one of the best anime song I’ve heard. :))) Super love it. Two thumbs up.

  14. doesn’t everybody already know that lyrics, hasn’t that been years?

  15. i agree its a magical song i fell in love with it the first time i heard it. but this song is diffrent from the one on Angel Beats. i also love the one on D.N.Angel too there both awesome.

  16. kanade’s song, so sweet

  17. This song + Ending of AB = AWsomeness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. mirajane blue heart

    please can you translate song of fairy tail anime song -Tenohira by Hiro?^^

  19. Great piano I love that opening

  20. Pingback: Johnathan Senior Exit Portfolio » Blog Archive » All the World’s a Stage: Connection

  21. i love angel beats! i wish they would make a new season.

Leave a Reply

