The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Opening Theme – Bouken Desho Desho?

Adventure, Right? Right?
Vocals: Hirano Aya as Suzumiya Haruhi

The answer is always in my chest…
Why? I, who chose you
It was decided by my dear destiny that won’t stop anymore
I believe that just mimicking someone is boring
You’ll be right!
I’ll only do the things that I can feel, as I feel them

It’s an adventure, right? Right?! In the world where truths turn into lies
I’ll become strong because dreams exist, not for someone’s sake

Please come with me
Look at the endlessly free me
The present of today when tomorrow became the past is a miracle
I believe you…

It’s boring if I don’t go to a place of no return
C’mon, tell me; I threw my hidden wish into the mirror
My delight, if I accept it with my entire body
Your mind fly!
I’ll make you surprised, then I’ll be surprised, and we’ll smile

It’s the beginning, right? Right?! Like beauty shining on darkness
My strength and your tears- Either is justified

The delicate heart that wavers in reality
Doesn’t want to get hurt
I’ve thought that it’s always, always, in the depth of my chest
The answer is…

If it’s expected to be abnormal
Then what can I, who answer, do?
It’s normal but abnormal
I’ll only do the things that I can feel, as I feel them

It’s an adventure, right? Right?! In the world where truths turn into lies
I’ll become strong because dreams exist, not for someone’s sake
It’s the beginning, right? The beginning, right?!
Like beauty shining on darkness, midway on the adventure of me and you

We’ll advance together, and endlessly and freely
Overcome reality
The present of today when tomorrow became the past is a miracle
The definite future
Let’s grasp the future
I believe you…


Bouken Desho Desho?
Vocals: Hirano Aya as Suzumiya Haruhi

Kotae wa itsumo watashi no mune ni…
Nande daro Anata o eranda watashi desu
Mou tomaranai Unmei-sama kara kimerareta kedo
I believe Mane dake ja tsumaranai no
You’ll be right!
Kanjiru mama kanjiru koto dake o suru yo

Bouken desho desho!? Honto ga uso ni kawaru sekai de
Yume ga aru kara tsuyoku naru no yo Dare no tame ja nai

Issho ni kite kudasai
Doko made mo jiyuu na watashi o mite yo ne
Ashita kako ni natta kyou no ima ga kiseki
I believe you…

Modorenai toko made Ikanakya tsumannai
Saa oshiete Himeteru negai o kagami ni nageta
My delight Karada-goto uketometara
Your mind fly!
Odorokasete odoroite egao ni narou

Hajimari desho desho!? Kirei ga yami o terasu mitai ni
Watashi no chikara anata no namida Docchi mo tadashii no

Genjitsu ni yureru sensai na kokoro ga
Kizutsuku no wa iya
Omoimashita itsumo itsumo mune no oku ni
Kotae ga…

Futsuu ja nai no ga touzen nara
Kotaeru watashi wa nani ga dekiru?
Futsuu de mo futsuu ja nakute
Kanjiru mama kanjiru koto dake o suru yo

Bouken desho desho!? Honto ga uso ni kawaru sekai de
Yume ga aru kara tsuyoku naru no yo Dare no tame ja nai
Hajimari desho hajimari nan desho!?
Kirei ga yami o terasu mitai ni Watashi to anata bouken no tochuu

Issho ni susundeku Doko made mo jiyuu ni
Genjitsu o koete
Ashita kako ni natta kyou no ima ga kiseki
Tashika na mirai o
Tsukamou mirai o
I believe you…

19 responses to “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Opening Theme – Bouken Desho Desho?

  1. thx for the trans!! ^_^ it’s always great to know the words clearly =)

    btw… 2nd opening song? O_O i thot this is the only opening… o-o;;;

  2. I’m counting the “Koi no Mikuru Densetsu” song as the first opening.

  3. Thanks for posting. I’ve been looking for these lyrics for a while now… Uff!
    Thanks for the translation as well, I’m sure it takes a lot of effort to have it done right!

  4. hahaha, you are right. This is the second opening 😉

  5. Magic in my house~

  6. “The answer is always in my chest…”

    Hmm, I’d think it would sound more correct as the word heart. Not as a part of the body, but as something that refers to love, or about the soul, or something within.

    “The answer is always in my heart…”

    What are your thoughts?

  7. Yeah, I just took the literal route… ^^;;;;

  8. In the fifth line I am almost sure its “you’ll be MINE”… if you hear the song carefully perhaps you would agree with me… anyways thank you very much for the translation =^^=

  9. The official lyrics have “You’ll be right!”, so I have to go with that.

  10. Hello, how many days will go on before it expires? I try to download that music right now but doesn’t work at all.

  11. @Rudolph, if you haven’t noticed by now, the Japanese singers pronounce English words pretty horribly. :3

    @Anthony, Use limewire. If that doesn’t work, email me at paladin_pensuke@yahoo.com and I’ll send it to you.

  12. YAY! ^ ^ I wanted to know the English lyrics. I luv this song, it rox. 😀 I have it on my iPod… but I can’t sing along very well… ^ ^;

  13. I love this song, but it doesn’t matter how many times i read it and sing it i can’t remember it when it comes to singing it by heart 😄 guess i’ll have to keep practising till it sticks.

    “if you haven’t noticed by now, the Japanese singers pronounce English words pretty horribly.”
    Yeah… but not so horribly as many English people pronounce Japanese words… English and American people are generally the worst at speaking other languages, and i say this as an English person.

  14. it’s not kotae it’s kotoe^^
    Shouldn’t it be the answer is always inside my heart?
    it’s an adventure right,right?

  15. Heart, yes, it sounds better, but I’m just going literal here with ‘chest’.

  16. oo, i luv this song…. cant wait for the new series.

  17. Ohmigosh I’ve been looking for this song everywhere! Thank you so much for posting this! ^^

  18. …………..ummm,..thanks alot!i am an otaku and my idol is haruhi,thats why,when im g9oing to investigate more on aliens espers timetraveller,..etc,i will sing this song!!!=3

  19. Thanks for this, and the link to the song. Got addicted to it after watching the first series.

Leave a Reply

