Digimon Tamers 1st Movie Insert Song – Tomodachi no Umi

This is my favorite song from Digimon Tamers, and the first full-length song that I learned how to sing in Japanese.

Ocean of Friends
Vocals: Sammy
Lyrics: Yamada Hiroshi
Composition: Yamazaki Yo
Arrangement: Yamazaki Yo

You want to know a brilliant reason
Will the shining ocean answer?

Catching the sun, we laugh
This island is overflowing with treasures

You’d even gently embrace sad stories
Because the tropic wind is smiling

You’re crossing the ocean of light
like a fish
You’re aiming for the horizon with a strong gaze
In a true moment of midsummer
as if the flow of time has stopped
If we can become friends
Then I’m sure I can turn into a fish, too

You want to know an undefeated reason
I’m sure I’ll catch up with you

We’ve started to run toward the blue sky
that spreads beyond the sugarcane plants

Your sunburnt arms smells like the salty ocean winds
have a great, great dream

You’re rowing a boat toward tomorrow
Even if it’s by yourself
The ocean is always protecting you
In the same way as a thousand years ago
The children surely
ran down this path, too,
and jumped into the ocean

You’re crossing the ocean of light
like a fish
You’re aiming for the horizon with a strong gaze
In a true moment of midsummer
as if the flow of time has stopped
If we can become friends
Then I’m sure I can turn into a fish, too

Let’s become friends
Because I’m sure I’ll turn into a fish, too

Leave a Reply

